Healthy lunch box ideas that are easy to make, written by a normal everyday mum of two.

My name is Jo and I’m just a normal everyday Mum with two little ones.  I run a blog and facebook page called Thermolicious Food where I post recipes to suit normal, everyday families.  I don’t cook two meals, so my cooking must suit adults and children.  Although I use a Thermomix for most of my cooking, you will be able to make the recipes below without one 🙂

For the month of January I’m posting a daily lunch box tip, and a daily lunch box recipe on my facebook page so when Elise, the MD of What’s on 4 asked if I would like to share a few I was honoured.

So here’s my top 10 recipes:-

1. LCM Bars – completely additive and preservative free!

lcm

2. Milo Slice – using Thermomix Milo. If you don’t have a Thermomix don’t worry, you can use bought milo and follow the recipe for the slice.  Milo does contain additives but if you don’t mind using it then go right ahead 🙂

img_4716

3.  Real ‘deli’ chicken.  This is a failsafe recipe and is perfect for children (or adults) or doesn’t tolerate additives and preservatives very well.

IMG_1140

4. Guilt free chocolate balls.  You will need a good quality blender for this if you don’t have a thermomix.  My 3 year old daughter cant stop eating these.

IMG_4438

5. Spelt cupcakes.  I have also put in a handful of frozen raspberries at the end and mixed them through to make delicious raspberry cupcakes.  For non-theremomixers simply beat your butter and sugar until fluffy, then add eggs mixing until combined.  Add all other ingredients and mix until just combined.  DONT overbeat this mixture.

IMG_4290

6. Orange and date muffins.  These are GF, DF and sugar free and they are YUM!  If you don’t have a thermomix, use a good quality blender.  You may need to blend a little longer then the recipe says.

IMG_4709

7.  Melon/fruit balls.  They are fun and inviting!  Put them on a kebab stick to make them even more fun (but maybe not so safe for school) and I’m sure they will be gobbled down.  To make these you’ll only need a melon ball tool, you can get these from kitchen stores.

IMG_4759

8. Chia pizza scrolls.  For non thermomix owners, make a pizza dough and then follow the recipe as per the link 🙂

IMG_4788

9. GF Choc chip cookies.  If you don’t have a thermomix purchase some almond mill and mix it by hand.

choc chip cookies

10. Sushi.  For non thermomixers follow the recipes on a packet of Sushi rice and nori sheets.

sushi

All of these recipes apart from the sushi and fruit balls freeze well.  I wrap them in individual portions and freeze them so when it comes time to making lunches half of the hard work is already done.

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!

Jo x

Leave a Reply

