Cauliflower rice (aka fried rice) – Thermomix Style

“Its wonderful” she says – the words from a three year old.  I have to be honest, as I was making this my heart was in my throat, I had my doubts but I’m so glad I made it, as hubby, Miss E and I loved it.  I’ll be making it again, that’s for sure.  Its SUPER healthy, low in calories and great as left overs the next day.
This is my version of fried ‘rice’ without a grain of rice in site!
IMG_3744
You’ll need:-
500g cauliflower florets (this is the ‘rice’)
100g broccoli
100g pumpkin
2 spring onions
1 zucchini
1 carrot
4 pieces of nitrate free bacon
(you could use what ever you like really, corn, peas, beans etc – but you must have the cauli.  You could also leave out the bacon, or use chicken, pork etc.  If you wanted it vegetarian you could have no meat, and use an omelet).
Here’s what you need to do:-
Start with the cauliflower florets broken into manageable chunks. Put these  the Thermomix bowl and spin about 4 or 5 seconds/REVERSE speed 5. By “whacking” instead of “chopping” it retains the kernal-like quality of cauliflower so it resembles more of a grain than a fine mince. By using the florets and not the stalk, this will result in a pile of large-grained rice-like cauliflower.  I got this tip from here after a google search.
Tip the cauli into the top varoma tray and spread evenly.
Dice all of the other vegetables & bacon into about 1 x 1 cm size pieces (or however you like it).  Put the bacon in the bottom varoma tray, then the other vegetables on top, this will ensure your bacon cooks through as the steam will reach it first.
IMG_3747
Put 500g of water into the bowl and cook varoma temp, speed 3 for 15 minutes.
After this is done, check the veg.  You still want a bit of crunch and you defiantly want this for the cauliflower, but you want to make sure your bacon is cooked.  If it isn’t done enough then put it on for another 5 minutes at varoma temp but make sure you don’t over cook the cauliflower or it’ll end up mush.
Once done and cooked to your liking tip everything into a large bowl, splash tamari sauce (or soy sauce) over the top and serve.

Leave a comment